Zones, reservations and special control areas

The PRS divides land in the region into zones, reservations and special control areas that are shown on the scheme map.


Urban: Areas in which a range of activities are undertaken, including residential, commercial recreational and light industry.

Urban deferred: Land identified for future urban uses following the extension of urban services, the progressive development of adjacent urban areas, and resolution of any environmental and planning requirements relating to development. The WAPC must be satisfied that these issues have been addressed before rezoning to Urban.

Regional centre: Strategic regional centres for major retail, commercial and office facilities as well as employment, civic, business and residential uses.

Industrial: Land in which manufacture, processing, warehousing and related activities are undertaken.

Rural: Land in which a range of agricultural, extractive and conservation uses are undertaken.

Private recreation: Areas of significance to the region's recreation resource, which are, or are proposed to be managed by the private sector.


Regional open space: Land of regional significance for ecological, recreation or landscape purposes.

Railways: Provides for public transit routes, freight rail lines and associated facilities such as marshalling yards, maintenance depots and park'n'ride stations.

State forests: Areas of woodland located on Crown land managed under the Conservation and Land Management Act 1984.

Waterways: Permanent inland and coastal waters including any substantial rivers and reservoirs.

Primary regional roads: These are the most important of the roads of regional significance in the planned road network, and which are currently or proposed to be declared under the Main Roads Act 1930.

Other regional roads: These are roads of regional significance in the planned road network for which the planning responsibilities are shared by the WAPC and local governments.

Public purposes: Land for public facilities such as hospitals, schools, universities, utilities for electricity and water treatment of wastewater, Commonwealth government and other special uses.

Special Control Areas

Special Control Area No 1 - Water Catchments: Water sources protected for high quality public water supply. These areas have strict controls on land use to avoid harm to the water resource.

Special Control Area No. 2 - Wastewater Treatment Plant Odour Buffers: identifies land likely to be affected by odours associated with wastewater treatment infrastructure. The purpose of the control area is to ensure the development of land is compatible with the operation of wastewater treatment infrastructure.

Page last reviewed 23 November 2018
Go toTop of the page