Aboriginal Lands Trust

The Aboriginal Lands Trust (ALT) is a statutory board convened under the Aboriginal Affairs Planning Authority Act 1972.

ALT-LOGO545.jpgAboriginal Lands Trust (ALT)

The Aboriginal Lands Trust (ALT) is a statutory board convened under the Aboriginal Affairs Planning Authority Act 1972.

  • The ALT estate covers approximately 24 million hectares of land in Western Australia, which is about 9.65 per cent of the State. The ALT manages 312 parcels of land including 249 crown reserves, 50 Freehold, 7 general purpose leases and 6 pastoral leases.

  • The ALT estate includes 155 regional and remote Aboriginal communities and 28 town based reserves, with an approximate population of 12,000 inhabitants.

  • 17 of the 20 largest Aboriginal communities are located on ALT estate. The five largest are: Bidyadanga, Balgo, Warburton, Kalumburu and Jigalong.

  • There are over 290 existing leasing arrangements which constitute approximately 13 million hectares (or 54%) of the ALT estate.

  • There are 81 ALT reserves (19 million hectares) that are proclaimed by the Governor under Part lll of the Aboriginal Affairs Planning Authority Act 1972  (AAPA Act), where special protections apply. To enter or transit through these reserves a permit is required.  

The ALT meets every two months. Meeting dates and deadlines for applications can be found here: Aboriginal Lands Trust meeting dates for 2018 - 2019.

For more information, please contact the ALT Executive Officer on 08 6551 8186 or via email on ALT@daa.wa.gov.au.

Expressions of interest – ALT Membership

ALT Members are appointed based on their knowledge, skills and experience in Aboriginal housing service provision; business and economic development; and/or planning and land management. The terms of membership of ALT members are staggered to ensure strong continuity. The call for expressions of interest for the current round of memberships closed on Friday 13 April 2018. Should you wish to register your interest in future calls for ALT membership, please visit OnBoardWA.

ALT Members

Dr Robert Isaacs AM (Chair)
Term of appointment - July 2016 - June 2020

Robert is from the Bibbulmun, Whadjuk, Wardandi, Noongar Language Group. He is the Executive Manager of Social Lending Keystart Shared Equity Home Loans for the Department of Housing. He has been awarded the Order of the Australian Medal (OAM) and is widely respected and recognised for his contributions to Aboriginal housing, Local Government, Aboriginal health, Aboriginal affairs, employment, education and the community. He was named the Western Australian of the Year 2015.

Roanna Edwards
Term of appointment – July 2018 – June 2022

Roanna is currently working for Horizon Power, and has a sound knowledge of housing service provision in regional/remote communities across WA. Roanna has worked for the Northern Land Council, leading the Council’s communications around native title, pastoral leases, mining leases and gazetted townships. She also has a strong media background as previous board member on the Australian Broadcasting Corporation Indigenous Advisory Panel.

James (Jamie) Elliott
Term of appointment – July 2018 – June 2022

Jamie is currently working for the Water Corporation based in Kununurra and working with WA remote Town Base Reserve communities. Jamie has extensive experience in the development and management of programs and services focused on Aboriginal engagement. He has also worked for the Department of Housing, and is a current board member of the Wunan Foundation. Jamie has been reappointed by Minister Wyatt for a further 4-year term.

Patrick Green

Term of appointment - July 2016 - June 2020

Patrick is a Bunuba man from the Fitzroy Valley region of Western Australia. He lives in Junjuwa and is currently the Chairperson of his community. Patrick is the Chairperson of LEEDAL Pty Ltd a local Aboriginal owned business cooperative and the current Chairperson of Marra Worra Worra Aboriginal Corporation in Fitzroy Crossing.

Nerida Haynes
Term of appointment – July 2018 – June 2022

Nerida is currently working for Terra Rosa Consulting working with Aboriginal communities to utilise/develop land tenure to provide long-term economic return as well as achieve environmental, cultural heritage and social targets. Nerida has extensive knowledge in relevant legislation and government policies for Aboriginal heritage/land management processes. She is also undertaking part-time study for a Graduate Diploma in Archaeology and Cultural Heritage Management.

Jacqueline Littlejohn
Term of appointment - July 2016 - June 2020

Jacqueline is a Yamatji Malgama woman from Shark Bay in the North West of WA. With over twenty years' experience in the rapidly evolving area of diversity, inclusion and Aboriginal affairs, Jacqueline has pioneered new ways to address prejudice, racism and discrimination. She is committed to advancing health, education and economic development opportunities for Aboriginal people.

Preston Thomas
Term of appointment - July 2016 - June 2020

Preston "Mr T" Thomas is a former Deputy Chairperson of the ALT and is the current Chairperson of Kanpa Community Council. He is also the Chair of the Ngaanyatjarra Council (Aboriginal Corporation). He is committed to increasing economic development opportunities for Aboriginal Western Australians.


Aboriginal Lands Trust policies and systems

Page last reviewed 7 December 2018
Go toTop of the page