DAP members

All Development Assessment Panel (DAP) members are appointed by the Minister for Planning.

In April 2020, Presiding Members, Deputy Presiding Members and Specialist Members were permanently appointed for each of the five panels, for a term of two years. 

Specialist members

Specialist members are appointed from a list of appropriately qualified persons, based on the requirements outlined in the Development Assessment Panel (DAP) regulations. Specialist members may sit on more than one DAP. Specialist members must have experience in one or more of the following areas:

  • Planning
  • Architecture
  • Urban design
  • Engineering
  • Landscape design
  • Environment
  • Law
  • Property development and management.
Presiding members

Presiding members are specialist members who hold planning qualifications who preside at Development Assessment Panel (DAP) meetings for the DAP in which they are appointed. In addition to the responsibilities of being a specialist member, presiding members must also chair meetings, determine minor amendments to DAP-determined applications, confirm DAP meeting minutes, and represent the DAP as the respondent in the event of an appeal.

Deputy presiding members

Deputy presiding members are specialist members who hold planning qualifications who will act in the place of the presiding member when he or she is unable to act by reason of illness, absence or other cause.


Local members

Local representation is a vital component of the Development Assessment Panel (DAP). Local members are members of a local government council who are nominated by that local government to sit on a DAP. The relevant local government will be responsible for nominating four local government representative members from the local government's pool of elected members (councillors). Two councillors will be local members, and two deputy local members to be called on if an issue of quorum arises. The Minister will appoint the local government representatives in accordance with the local government's nomination. 

Should the local government fail to nominate four representatives, the Minister has the power to appoint two alternative community representatives to ensure local representation is always present on a panel. The regulations require that these alternate representatives are residents of the local area and have relevant knowledge or experience that, in the opinion of the Minister, will enable them to represent the interests of their local community.

Alternate members

There will be alternate (deputy) members for local members and specialist members. Alternate (deputy) members will be used when an issue of quorum arises or when a Development Assessment Panel (DAP) member is unable to act by reason of illness, absence or other cause. Deputy local members cannot sit in the place of specialist members, just as deputy specialist members cannot sit in the place of local members.

Constitution of Development Assessment Panels

Each Development Assessment Panel (DAP) comprises five members; three specialist members, one of which is the presiding member, and two local members, nominated by the local government.

At a meeting of a DAP, a quorum is constituted by three members of the DAP, including the Presiding Member.

Page last reviewed 21 April 2020
Go toTop of the page