Contribution by a public or private organisation

A public or private organisation whose contribution demonstrates a commitment to cultural heritage and/or heritage-related work, services or programs in Western Australia.

Winner: Shire of Leonora (for Gwalia conservation)

The Shire of Leonora have not let their remote location stop them from tackling big projects. The completion of the five-year $3.3 million Gwalia Upgrade Project is their biggest heritage achievement to date.

The project aimed to deliver an ambitious works program at Gwalia, including conservation of Gwalia’s Historical Precinct, Museum and Hoover House, reconstruction of the historic timber headframe and preservation of the Gwalia settlement’s 22 traditional miners’ cottages.

The judges believe the completion of this conservation work ensures Gwalia’s place as an important heritage and tourist destination into the future.

  • Gwailia Mmseum and headframe
    Gwailia Mmseum and headframe
  • Elaine Labuschagne and Gemma Dewar during the Gwalia upgrade project
    Elaine Labuschagne and Gemma Dewar during the Gwalia upgrade project
  • Gwalia aerial view
    Gwalia aerial view
  • Gwalia during the upgrade
    Gwalia during the upgrade
  • Gwalia headframe
    Gwalia headframe
  • Gwalia Hoover House and museums
    Gwalia Hoover House and museums
  • Gwalia's function house
    Gwalia's function house
  • Hoover house entry
    Hoover house entry
  • State Hotel Gwalia
    State Hotel Gwalia
Previous Image Next Image

Commendation: Town of East Fremantle (for Town Hall conservation)

At the heart of East Fremantle lies the East Fremantle Town Hall, forming part of a complex of heritage buildings, that includes the historic Post Office, Police Station & Lock-up facilities, and Dovenby House.

The judges said the restoration of the Town Hall is significant as it has allowed the building to continue as a hub for community life while at the same time providing a contemporary and efficient work space for the council.

Page last reviewed 19 August 2019
Go toTop of the page