About the OGA

The Government Architect is supported by a small but dedicated team in the Office of the Government Architect (OGA).

Rebecca Moore - Government Architect

As Western Australia’s Government Architect since September 2020, Rebecca Moore provides leadership and strategic advice to government to enhance the design of public buildings and spaces, and create better built environment outcomes for WA. 

A highly qualified architect with over two decades of diverse experience both here in Perth and overseas, Rebecca has expertise in design, planning, heritage and construction. 

During her time as a practicing architect, Rebecca was involved in adaptive reuse, commercial, heritage and education projects. Her residential portfolio spans mixed-use, single and multi-residential developments, including an award-winning town house development in Subiaco.

Rebecca is a nationally accredited mediator and long-standing member of the State Administrative Tribunal, with a strong background in decision-making and mediation across a variety of complex development projects.

She has held key roles in the Australian Institute of Architects and was an examiner with the Architects Accreditation Council of Australia for a number of years. 

Rebecca is also Chair of the State Design Review Panel, playing a significant role in the design review of COVID-19 economic stimulus projects. 

She is committed to delivering a built environment that gives Western Australians a sense of identity, belonging, and shared heritage, without compromising functionality, sustainability or aesthetics. 

Melinda Payne - Associate to the Government Architect

As Associate to the Government Architect, Melinda manages the project, policy and advocacy activities of the OGA. In this capacity she has provided strategic design advice on major state projects such as the new Perth Stadium, the WA Museum and Elizabeth Quay development, as well as leading several significant design and planning policy initiatives. Before joining the public service, she had a 10-year architectural practice career and was involved in significant education and civic projects awarded by both AIA and RIBA. 

Melinda has extensive experience in design review for government. A dedicated advocate for the value of good design, she has served on judging panels for a number of national and international design competitions, has been an Australian Institute of Architects award juror, and has sat on a number of academic boards and institutional design advisory committees. 

She has expertise in strategic design, governance and procurement in the built environment. In addition to teaching and design jury roles at both UWA and Curtin schools of architecture, she has written on design for industry and wider audiences.

OGA staff

Carmel Van Ruth – Senior Architecture Officer

Patrick Ford – Senior Architecture Officer

Tanya Ring – Senior Architecture Officer

Barbara Gdowski - State Design Review Panel Manager

Renae O'Brien - Executive Assistant to the Government Architect

Quarterly reports

The OGA prepares regular quarterly reports to inform government, stakeholders and the public of its activities. These are available for download below.

Government Architects Network of Australia

The OGA is a member of the Government Architects Network of Australia (GANA) which comprises membership from around Australia. GANA members share a commitment to improving the quality of the built environment and ensuring that good design benefits the community. It meets twice annually to discuss common interests, pertinent built environment issues and related activities. Further information is available from the links below:


Government Architect of New South Wales

Victorian Office of the Government Architect

Office for Design and Architecture South Australia

Office of the Queensland Government Architect


Contact us

Office of the Government Architect 
PO Box 2506 Perth, Western Australia  6001
(08) 6551 8002

Page last reviewed 13 July 2021
Go toTop of the page